

ATLANTA COMMITTEE — Some of the convention workers help themselves to refreshments at the Sunday evening reception at the Atlanta Biltmore hotel: (*left to right*) E. C. Ainslie, chairman; T. C. Law, honorary chair man; Dan Lee Henry, program chairman; Mrs. Ainslie, ladies' chairman; William Stewart, banquet chairman; and G. Conner Henry, chairman of convention arrangements.

Atlanta Meeting Draws Attendance of 350

G EORGIA hospitality is just as fine a brand as that of Louisiana, according to the members and guests of the American Oil Chemists' Society who attended the 41st annual meeting in Atlanta May 1-3 at the Atlanta Biltmore hotel, under the wing of E. C. Ainslie as general chairman and T. C. Law as honorary chairman. The social program opened Sunday evening with a reception, the past presidents held their reunion on Monday evening, Tuesday was a busy day with a tour of the city and environs, golf tournament, and banquet.

Attendance was gratifying: 290 men and 60 women, or a total of 350. Some 27 states were represented, also the District of Columbia, and Canada. Leading state delegations were Illinois with 44; Georgia with 37; Ohio with 30; Texas with 25; New York with 20; Tennessee with 19; and Louisiana with 14.

Chairmen of the local committee were, besides Mr. Ainslie and Mr. Law, Mrs. Ainslie, ladies'; Dan Lee Henry, program; L. S. Kelly, publicity; G. Conner Henry, convention arrangements; William Stewart, banquet; R. T. Doughtie Jr., golf; S. P. Stephenson, transportation; C. P. Brenner, treasurer; and R. B. Muller, registration.

Committee reports were given Monday morning, most of which will be published in the Journal, and the business session was held Tuesday morning for the report of the Membership Committee by J. R. Mays Jr., of the Nomination and Election Committee by A. R. Baldwin for Chairman R. J. Houle, and of the secretary, H. L. Roschen, on the balloting by proxy on the increase in membership dues. These are to be raised from \$6 to \$8 for active and individual associate members and from \$10 to \$15 for corporation members, effective with payment of the 1951 dues.

Technical papers were given Monday afternoon, all day Tuesday, and all of Wednesday. A report on these is published elsewhere in this issue.

 ${
m M}^{
m R.~LAW}$ presided at the banquet on May 2 in the ballroom of the Atlanta Biltmore, giving from the point of view of a founding father a little history of the past presidents prior to the ceremony of presenting the Felix Paquin keys by Lamar Kishlar, acting for Mr. Paquin, first president of the Society. First he spoke of the keys given to four charter members in 1946: G. W. Agee, E. R. Barrow, T. C. Law, and Mr. Paquin by Lamar Kishlar, then of the 10 charter members who served as the first 10 presidents of the Society. In 1921, he said, the first 12 presidents were photographed at a meeting in Chicago, and this picture-"the most valuable in the possession of the Society"-was published in Oil and Soap in 1946 and reprinted in the Volume on Presidents and Committees (1947) as part of the history of the first 39 years of the Society.

Of the five living charter member-presidents all were present, Mr. Law went on, except "the popular and lovable Rex Perry," who is retired and lives in California. He then called the roster of the dead and absent, and all living past presidents who were present came up to the speakers' table in turn to receive their respective keys from Mr. Kishlar. At the end humorously he advised the incoming president, Mr. Mays, to take the job seriously but not himself.

The next on the program was the awarding of the Smalley cup to D. B. McIsaac and of the Smalley certificates by R. W. Bates, chairman of the Smalley Foundation Committee. C. P. Long, in accepting one of the awards for Proeter and Gamble, commented humorously that the "Smalley Foundation for years has been sending out crude vegetable oils for refining and this year, in addition to the usual percentage ratings, certificates have been given to the laboratory men having the two highest ratings. These were T. S. McDonald, Proeter and Gamble, Dallas, Tex., with a true Ivory rating of 99.44%, and R. W. Sutton, Proeter and Gamble, Long Beach, Calif."

Door prizes were given to the ladies by William Stewart, as follows:

Mrs. H. C. Bennett, Los Angeles
Mrs. R. R. Haire, Clarksdale, Miss.
Mrs. M. E. Larsen, Chicago
Mrs. T. A. Drisko, San Francisco
Mrs. W. A. Jacob, Houston
Mrs. P. W. Bateman, Decatur, Ill.
Mrs. H. A. Schuette, Madison, Wis.
Mrs. Harley L. Ward, Chicago
Mrs. J. E. Ragsdale, Houston
Mrs. V. C. Mehlenbacher, Chicago
Mrs. C. K. Wiesman, Chicago

o. H. Witsmin, onlongo

Special Prize

(This prize was restricted to referee chemists of the A.O.C.S. and only those who were registered at the convention. Name of the winner was drawn from



C. H. Humes (*left*) presents a Coleman instrument to the Woodson-Tenent Laboratories, with O. E. Wilkins as the recipient.